Bryan W. Whitfield Memorial Hospital provides an array of services to the residents of Marengo and surrounding counties, including the following:

Accounting/Payroll
Vendor Payments, Payroll Checks, Account Reconciliations
Doug Brooker
Division Director of Fiscal Services
334-287-2529
dbrooker@bwwmh.com 

Auxiliary and Volunteer Programs
With a membership of 40+ "Pink Ladies" the BWWMH Auxiliary runs the gift shop, takes snacks to patients twice daily, sponsors fundraisers, and much more.
334-287-2626
 

Clinical Laboratory Services
Biochemistry, Hematology, Microbiology, Blood Banking, Reference Lab Testing
Debbie Green
Administrative Director of Laboratory Services
334-287-2644
dgreen@bwwmh.com 

Diagnostic Imaging Services
MRI, Ultrasonography, Nuclear Medicine/Scanning, Whole-body CT Scan, Radiographic and Fluoroscopic Services, General X-Ray, Mammography, Bone Densitometry
Randy Dearman
Administrative Director of Diagnostic Imaging
334-287-2629
rdearman@bwwmh.com 

Dietary Services & Nutritional Consultation
Diabetic and Nutritional Counseling, Catering Services, Cafeteria Open to the Public, Bariatric Surgery Support Group
334-287-2560

Education and Training
UWA RN rotation & training, Alabama Southern Community College LPN rotational services, UAB School of Medicine Residents/Students, USA Residents/Students, Continuing Medical Education from USA, Interface with all professional schools including Wallace Community College in Selma
Division Director of Patient Care Services
334-287-2579

Emergency Department
Emergent & urgent medical care provider with 24-hour coverage.  Immediate care available for serious illness and significant injury.  24-hours, 7-days per week ED Physician on duty.
Beth Rhyne
Nurse Manager, Emergency Department
334-287-2516
brhyne@bwwmh.com 

Endoscopy Services
Colonoscopy, Sigmoidoscopy, Endoscopy
Donna Pope, RN
Nurse Manager of Surgical Services
334-287-2581
dpope@bwwmh.com

Fiscal Services
Financial Reporting, Tax Forms, Auditing, Payment Processing
Doug Brooker
Division Director of Fiscal Services
334-287-2529
dbrooker@bwwmh.com 

Health Information Management
Provision of accurate, complete and confidential medical records on a timely and convenient basis.  Provision of information regarding questions and concerns on all healthcare confidentiality issues.
Jim Peppenhorst
Director of HIM and Privacy Officer
334-287-2640
jpeppenhorst@bwwmh.com 

General Medical/Surgical/Diagnosis & Treatment
Comprehensive care provided to a mix of medical & surgical patients who undergo a variety of diagnostic & therapeutic measures.
Vanessa Mills, Nurse Manager of Medical/Surgical Services - Station 2
334-287-2522  vmills@bwwmh.com 
Reba Samuel, Nurse Manager of Medical/Surgical Services - Station 3
334-287-2505  rsamuel@bwwmh.com 

Geriatric Behavioral Health
Comprehensive individualized care to assist with emotional, mental, physical, and medication needs in a warm, supportive atmosphere for geriatric patients. Both inpatient and outpatient services are offered.
Melissa King, Director
334-287-2816  mking@bwwmh.com 

Heliport
FAA Approved
Robert Taylor
Director of Facility Operations
334-287-2615
rtaylor@bwwmh.com 

Home Emergency Response System
Companion For Life
Caroline Teel
Director of Social Services
334-287-2528
cteel@bwwmh.com 

Hospital Public Safety & Security Service
Integrated Camera Monitoring, Patrolling
Mitchell Snipes
Director of Security/EMS
334-287-2617
msnipes@bwwmh.com 

Human Resources
Comprehensive benefits package, Employee Relations, Special Employee Events, Recruiting and Retention Programs
Danny Smith
Division Director of Human Resources
334-287-2635
dsmith@bwwmh.com 

Management Information Systems
State-of-the-art integrated hospital-wide operating systems, Clinical documentation component, bedside charting, physician access, Omnicell pharmacy dispensing system.
Tom Uhl
Director of Management Information Systems
334-287-2672
tuhl@bwwmh.com 

Material Services
Purchasing, Central Supply, Print Shop
Kim Townsend
Director of Material Services
334-287-2546
ktownsend@bwwmh.com 

Medical Intensive Care Services
A 7-bed specialty unit providing intensive care to critically ill patients.
Terry Elmore
Nurse Manager of Medical Intensive Care Unit
334-287-2521
telmore@bwwmh.com 

Oncology Services
Chemotherapy and Radiation Oncology, Hematology and Oncology Clinic Visits
334-287-2647

Outpatient Services
Surgery preparation and recovery, Specialty Clinics - Urology, Neurology, Orthopedic, Nephrology, Pain Management, Plastic Surgery
Donna Pope, RN
Nurse Manager of Surgical Services
334-287-2581
dpope@bwwmh.com 

Occupational Therapy
Assessments and Treatments, Splinting, Adaptive Equipment, Visual Perception, Sensory Motor Analysis, Pain Control
Christina Long
Occupational Therapist
334-287-2566
clong@bwwmh.com 

Patient Accounting Services/Admitting
Registration, Statement Processing, Central Scheduling, PBX
Sylvan Mutschler
Director of PAS Admitting
334-287-2558
smutschler@bwwmh.com 

Patient Accounting Services/Billing
Insurance billing and follow-up, Accounts Receivable Resolution
Carey Windham
Billing Supervisor
334-287-2659
cwindham@bwwmh.com 

Patient/Staff Education
Lecture, self-study and computer based classes are offered on a variety of medical subjects.  BWWMH is an approved CEU provider through the Alabama Board of Nursing.  ACLS & BLS are also offered.
Teresa Ford, RN
Coordinator of Patient/Public Education
334-287-2655
tford@bwwmh.com

Pharmaceutical Services
Unit Dose Drug Distribution System, IV Admixture System, Drug Information Services to Healthcare Professionals and Patients as needed.
Marty Brown
Director of Pharmacy Services
334-287-2542
mbrown@bwwmh.com 

Physical Therapy
Assessments and Treatments, Functional Capacity Exams
Don Sprewell
Director of Physical Therapy
334-287-2564
dsprewell@bwwmh.com 

Public Education and Information Programs
A hospital isn't just where you go when you're sick.  It's also a place that helps you learn how to lead a healthier life.  Classes and special events are held throughout the calendar year.
334-287-2626
 

Quality Assessment & Quality Improvement Analysis and Review System
Performance Improvement System, JCAHO Compliance
Cindy Parten
Director of Professional Standards Systems
334-287-2670
cparten@bwwmh.com 

Respiratory Therapy Services
Blood Gas Levels, Pulmonary Function Testing, Holter Monitoring, Electrocardiogram, Pediatric & Adult Ventilator Services & Monitoring, DOT Breath Alcohol Testing
Kayla Hasty
Director of Respiratory Services
334-287-2604
khasty@bwwmh.com 

Sleep Disorders Testing
Sleep Apnea, Insomnia, CPAP Administration and Maintenance
Craig Schumacher
Director of Sleep Lab
334-287-2813
cschumacher@bwwmh.com 

Social Services
Discharge Planning, Patient/Family Education, Clinical Care, Post Acute Care, Reimbursement Consultation
Caroline Teel
Director of Social Services
334-287-2528
cteel@bwwmh.com 

Surgical Services
Arthroscopy, Orthopedics, Special Procedures Related to Endoscopy, Surgical Laser System, Vascular, Urology, Podiatry, Cataract Surgery, Plastic Surgery
Donna Pope, RN
Nurse Manager of Surgical Services
334-287-2581
dpope@bwwmh.com 

Swing Bed Services
Skilled Nursing Care Under Conditions of Eligibility Based on Medicare, Medicaid and other criteria
Caroline Teel
Director of Social Services
334-287-2528
cteel@bwwmh.com 

Telemetry/Cardiac Monitoring Services
A 16-bed cardiac monitoring system is used to monitor heart activity in an open medical care unit.
Terry Elmore
Nurse Manager of Medical Intensive Care
334-287-2521
telmore@bwwmh.com 

Case Management
Preadmission Certification, Continuous Stay Certification, Discharge Screening
Angela Bedwell
334-287-2634
asheffield@bwwmh.com 

Wellness Program and Preventative Health
Public & Corporate Memberships, Cardiovascular Fitness Focused Program, Sate of the Art Equipment, Family Oriented Atmosphere, Bath & Shower Facilities, Lockers
Betsy Adams
Wellness Center Director
334-287-2613

OUR SERVICES   |   PHYSICIAN DIRECTORY   |   NEWSROOM   |   CONTACT THA   |   SITE MAP


copyright 2004 Tombigbee Healthcare Authority | All rights reserved
105 Highway 80 East | Demopolis, Alabama 36732 | telephone 334-289-4000