BWWMH Auxiliary Recognized in Celebration of National Volunteer Week.

Members of the Bryan Whitfield Memorial Hospital Auxiliary gathered for the annual National Volunteer Week luncheon held in their honor last week at the Demopolis Civic Center .  

“Our volunteers are very important,” explains Mike Marshall, CEO/Administrator of the Tombigbee Healthcare Authority, “With a current roster of 62 members, the volunteer group plays a vital role in the growth and continued success of our organization."

Dr. DeMel Coleman, a psychiatrist with the Tombigbee Geriatric Behavioral Health Program, was the keynote speaker for the event. He described the volunteers as the “backbone” of society and thanked each of them for their service.

Each year members of the organization select one of their members whom they feel best exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism as their Volunteer of the Year. This year’s recipient was Mrs. Alice Boggs. A member since March 1990, Mrs. Boggs can be found all over the hospital as she looks for ways to improve the facility everywhere she goes. As the volunteer of the year, Mrs. Boggs received certificate of appreciation and an original painting by local artist Kirk Brooker commissioned in her honor.

Members of the group who were recognized for their years of service were: 5 years: Linda Burnham and Angie Hurns; 10 years: Sharon Farst and Nell Gibson; and 15 years: Jimmie McCollum.

A highlight of the event came when two members were presented with the President’s Call To Service Award and 47 volunteers with the President’s Volunteer Service Award, both national honors offered in recognition of volunteer service.

In his 2002 State of the Union address, President George W. Bush issued a challenge to all Americans to make time to help their neighbors, communities, and nation through service calling on each person to dedicate at least 4,000 hours – or two years – to service over the course of their lives. To recognize these contributions, the President’s Call To Service Award was created.

Alice Boggs and Jimmie McCollum were recognized for surpassing the 4,000 hour mark of service to the patients and public served by THA over the course of their membership in the Auxiliary.

Established in 2003, the President‘s Volunteer Service Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering. As one of thousands of certifying organizations participating in the award program, BWWMH confers the award to recognize the outstanding achievements of its volunteers.

Those receiving Bronze Awards for 100-249 hours of volunteer service in calendar year 2007 were: Betty Baxley, Liz Bond, Charlotte Criswell, Rebecca Culpepper, Carolyn Davison, Hilda Elmore, Nell Gibson, Georgette Griffith, Ronnie Hainley, Sandra Harrison, Angie Hurns, Genida Johnson, Mae Johnson, Virginia Kidd, Louise Leet, Dashiell McKay, Johnnie Knott, Rachel Lamb, Jeanette Lowe, Betty McCants, Betty McCormick, Juliette McNamara, Kathy Patterson, Ruth Raines, Aubrey Randall, Ruth Randall, Avis Payne, Grace Perolio, Otha Watson, Edith Whitfield, and Dorothy Wright.

Receiving Silver Awards for 250-499 hours of volunteer service in calendar year 2007 were: Mary Barnes, Linda Burnham, Austin Caldwell, Margaret Carter, Sharon Farst, Daphne Glaser, Buddy Jones, Jimmie McCollum, Brenda Parr, Marge Reinecke, Dot Russell, Toni Rutledge, Marie Taylor, and Biboo Webb.

Receiving Gold Awards for 500 or more hours of volunteer service in calendar year 2007 were: Alice Boggs and Kate Mutschler.

A total of six scholarships were awarded by the Auxiliary during the luncheon to area students.

The Carolyn S. (Betty) McCormick Scholarship is offered to children and grandchildren of employees of the Tombigbee Healthcare Authority who are pursing careers in healthcare. Three of these $1,500 scholarships were presented to the following: Katie Brooker, of Gallion, a senior at Demopolis High School, who plans to pursue a degree in occupational therapy; Hunter Lewis, of Demopolis, a sophomore at the University of West Alabama, who is studying to become a registered nurse; and Ashley Green, of Demopolis, a student at Samford University, who is studying to become a pharmacist.

The Emmett and Carolyn Clinkscales Scholarship is available to residents of Marengo, Sumter, Hale, Choctaw, Perry, Greene or Clarke counties who are pursuing careers in healthcare.

Three of these $1,500 scholarships were presented to the following: Stewart Gwin, of Gallion, a freshman at the University of West Alabama, who plans to become a physician; Andrew Flowers, of Linden, a senior at Marengo Academy, who plans to become an orthopaedic surgeon; and Hannah Detlefsen, of Thomasville, a senior at Clarke Prep School, who plans to become a registered nurse.

Volunteer of the Year

A tearful Alice Boggs, left, accepts her Volunteer of the Year Award from Auxiliary President Brenda Parr.

President's Call To Service Award Recipients

Alice Boggs, left, and Jimmie McCollum were recognized by President George Bush for their lifetime achievement of donating over 4,000 hours of volunteer services to Bryan W. Whitfield Memorial Hospital and the patients we serve.

Scholarship Recipients

Six area residents were presented scholarships by the Auxiliary during the annual Volunteer Week Luncheon. They are, from left: Stewart Gwin of Gallion, Hannah Detlefsen of Thomasville, Katie Brooker of Gallion, and Andrew Flowers of Linden. Hunter Lewis of Demopolis and Ashley Green of Demopolis, not shown, also received scholarships.

Bronze Award Winners

Seated, from left, Grace Perolio, Ruth Randall, Juliette McNamara, Edith Whitfield. Standing, middle: Rachel Lamb, Hilda Elmore, Aubrey Randall, Georgette Griffith, Betty McCormick, Nell Gibson, Rebecca Culpepper, Ronnie Hainley. Standing, back: Mae Johnson, Carolyn Davison, Sandra Harrison, Kathy Patterson, Ruth Raines, Angie Hurns, Dorothy Wright.


Silver Award Winners

Seated, from left: Daphne Glaser, Margaret Carter, Biboo Webb, Marie Taylor. Standing: Linda Burnham, Sharon Farst, Marge Reinecke, Dot Russell, Austin Caldwell, Buddy Jones, Jimmie McCollum, Brenda Parr.



copyright © 2005 Tombigbee Healthcare Authority | All rights reserved
105 Highway 80 East | Demopolis, Alabama 36732 | telephone 334-289-4000